At Manchester Health Academy (MHA) our Curriculum is set up to develop students’ cultural capital and knowledge of the world that will support our students to develop a sense of purpose within society, where they become active citizens and contributors.  To us the curriculum is more than academic achievement; rather it encompasses a child’s whole experience of growing up in modern Britain and having equal opportunities. Our Curriculum begins before a child starts at MHA with our strong primary school links and builds on their learning gained in these early years through a strong relationship with partner primary school leadership teams. MHA strives to support our students to become the best they can through developing their understanding of health, academic, artistic and personal growth. MHA provides a structured, supportive but challenging and enriching range of opportunities leading towards their future aspirations for life after MHA.

The Curriculum:

  1. Enable MHA pupils to develop knowledge, understand concepts and acquire skills, and be able to choose and apply these in relevant situations which is a knowledge engaged approach
  2. Increase the number of pupils taking Ebacc subjects, particularly a focus on developing a desire for languages and wider reading
  3. Develop cross curricular links in our curriculum that reflects the ever changing world of work and particularly around new Technologies through an active programme of STEM
  4. Provide subject choices through a challenging, engaging curriculum that supports all pupils’ learning and progression, and enables them to work towards achieving their goals
  5. Support all pupils’ spiritual, moral, social and cultural development and their understanding of British Values in the context of their local area
  6. Support, enable and ensure all pupils are secure and competent about bullying in all its forms particularly in their understanding and use of social media platforms and cyber bullying
  7. Support all pupils’ physical and mental development and responsibility for their own health, and enable them to be pro-active about how they manage themselves
  8. Promote a positive attitude towards learning for all pupil groups in our care
  9. Enable all staff to improve their subject knowledge that ensures that the activities in subjects match the needs and abilities of all pupils well enough to enable them to make good or better progress
  10. Ensure equal access to learning, with high expectations for every pupil and appropriate levels of differentiated challenge and support
  11. Develop pupils’ independent learning skills and resilience, to equip them for further/higher education and employment

At the Academy, we operate a two-week timetable where students are taught five one-hour lessons per day. In addition, the tutorial programme develops curriculum links as well as developing resilient and aspirational leaders.

 Key Stage 3 (Year 7 – 9)

Students develop skills and knowledge in a Key Stage 3 curriculum model which includes the following areas;

Core Skills

We develop student’s skills across the curriculum in areas such as:

  • Writing
  • Literacy
  • Communication
  • Thinking Skills
  • Numeracy
  • Self-esteem
  • Resilience
  • Careers-related learning
  • Social interaction

Our Specialism – Health

As Health is our specialism, students have one lesson a week during which they learn about issues which are important to their own health and well-being. This might be about keeping themselves safe, drugs and alcohol education, sex and relationship education, or first aid delivered by the ORCS team from Manchester University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust. As part of these sessions we have the support of several outside agencies who will come in and carry out workshops. Students are also involved in Healthy Schools projects such as Health Promotion campaigns. Students in all years and staff also get involved in our biannual Health Days, one of which features the Summer Health Walk.

Key Stage 4 (Year 10 – 11)

Core Curriculum Subjects

Students develop skills and knowledge in a Key Stage 4 curriculum model which includes the following compulsory areas;

Additional Core Curriculum Subjects


Ethics equips young people with the knowledge, skills and understanding to play an effective role in life. Students are coached to develop the key competencies to be successful. Essential time is spent helping students with time management, commitment, motivation and study habits. Students will also learn about their rights, responsibilities and duties, and about laws, justice and democracy.


Students in Year 10 will continue to be offered 3 hours of core Physical Education per fortnight. The aim is to promote a life-long love of participating in physical activity. Students will participate in a wide and varied curriculum in sports and activities such as Handball, Trampolining, Fitness and Gymnastics as well as the more traditional sports of Football and Netball. Students may also begin to study for a Level 2 BTEC Award in Sport which will give them an additional qualification in Year 11.

Students also develop skills and knowledge in selected options subjects.

Options Subjects

It is essential that your child selects subjects that for the next two years of their academic life will enable them to fully develop and enhance their skills and to support their future choices in study, employment and ultimately lifelong learning.

Options 2019-2020

Alternative curriculum arrangements are provided for students whose needs do not suit the mainstream model.

Key Stage 5 (Year 13)

Within the Sixth Form students can achieve BTEC Extended National Diploma in our specialist subject, Health & Social Care, at Level 3.  All students continue to study English and/or Maths until they have attained the required grade 4 in both subjects.